Australian Floral Emblems

Australian flora includes the Australian Floral Emblems.

All the Emblems are native Australian flowers.

The Golden Wattle

The National Floral Emblem is the Golden Wattle.

The Golden Wattle is found in New South Wales, Victoria, South Australia and the Australian Capital Territory.

Flowering time for the Golden Wattle is normally in late winter and spring.

The Golden Wattle was officially proclaimed as the National Emblem on the 19th of August 1988, but has been unofficially accepted as our floral emblem since federation in 1901.

September the 1st is National Wattle Day in Australia.

The Australian National Colours of green and gold are representative of the Golden Wattle in flower.

The Golden Wattle is an Australian Symbol of unity and of the spirit of the people of Australia.

Floral Emblems of the States and Territories

Follow Us

YouTube IconTwitter IconFacebook Icon